Cass Lake, MN – 4th of July 2009

Probably the best vacation I’ve taken in years – this 4th of July weekend I went and joined Bun and some pals up in Cass Lake, MN — on an island on the lake, specifically Star Island – where I enjoyed two days of relaxation, a no internet access and lake fishing, which I tried for the first time.  I have gone fishing in the Pacific many a time but I must say freshwater fishing is by far the most relaxing and one of the more theraputic outdoor activities.  Thanks to the Schuck family, family and friends who were fantastic hosts… I hope to repay the favor one day!

FILE0007

Al preparing his world famous burgers:

IMG_4142

IMG_4137

There are tons of photos that I’m still rooting through but by far the most fun was catching a largemouth bass on my first cast into Lake Windigo! I think Bun was the good luck charm during the fish adventure, because going out with the boys yielded dismal results but fish was caught anytime she was around so thanks bun! Also a big high five to Mike for taking time out of his busy schedule to take us out and show us how to properly trawl the lake!

FILE0204

My second day at the lake yielded a tan, more fishing and beach volleyball.  I caught a rock bass my 2nd go, and also took some time to visit the Water Festival in Bemidji before returning to CA.

paul bunyan rotated

Yes, we did see signs for Deep Fried Oreos and Taco in a Bag.  (I did not try.)

FILE0103FILE0101

more pics to come!  I’m taking a nap…..

Comments are closed.

