Korean art and Korean BBQ

I still can’t believe Summer’s over.  I am sitting here in the new library at LBCC and should be working on the revised Student Learning Outcomes, but A) I left my notes at home and B) I could be blogging.  Similarly my thoughts upon exiting my car were “I could be going to the gym, but A) I forgot my gym shoes at home and B) I could be blogging.”

Everybody here still thinks I’m a student.  I literally have to dress up on the first day every semester so that some vicenarian student with a skateboard doesn’t fire the vitriolic remark “you can’t park there,” when I pull into a faculty parking slot.  Today, however I was dressed casually as I usually am on the car ride down and when I was walking through the cafeteria I was approached by a size medium man wearing size XXL clothes.  No sir, I am not your esse, I just grade them.

***

When my folks were in town, we went to Korean BBQ – which is quite a feat for my family because well, let’s just say if my family was white, we would eat nothing but hotdogs and hamburgers.  Straying away from a massive Chinese dinner at 9pm is usually quite unavoidable for our family, but this time we did it.  We ventured outside of our comfort zone and tried Korean.  (I would imagine if we were British, we would similarly not try Welsh food unless it was absolutely mandatory.)

IMG_7167IMG_7170I would like to draw your attention to the restaurant BCD Tofu House in Koreatown.  Moderately priced Korean food in the center of Koreatown at Wilshire and Vermont.  The combination platters are usually the way to go and you get three different types of kimchee, an appetizer of cold veggies, a dried fish and soup.  In true Korean fashion you are given a raw egg to crack into the boiling soup so that you can cook your own.  Pretty neat.  Then comes the main course which is a pile of meat and rice. I had the bugolgi (beef) but I would totally recommend the pork, which is what my bro Lawrence tried and they also have chicken and BBQ ribs.

IMG_7149As if we didn’t hear enough about the Koreans already, I was also recently at the LACMA (which you should all go to every second Tuesday of the month for FREE ADMISSION) where they are having an exhibit by 12 modern Korean artists titled “Your Bright Future.”  Many of the pieces are political, crying out against wage disparagement between working classes in Korea and other social oppression.  Many of the pieces were pretty abstract and weird but I really enjoyed this one piece by Do Ho Suh, which harks back to my favorite era in studio art – constructivism.  Photos were lot allowed, but my brother Landis thankfully resides on the other side of the generation gap from me and does what he wants.

The cherry on the sundae was that my FAVORITE artist’s pieces were acquired by LACMA and I didn’t even realize it!  Three of Ed Keinholz’s works (downstairs from the main floor) from the 60’s A Lady Named Zoa, The Illegal Operation and History as a Planter were present, the middle piece being a protest piece on abortion IMG_7140created long before the Roe v. Wade era. I urge you all to go. I’m mostly interested in what you think of Keinholz’s work. His most famous diorama or construction was a life-size replica of the bar at Barney’s Beanery with all the bar patrons sitting on the stools with clocks as heads.  I think that piece is currently in New York.

There were many great exhibits… I will share some of the best shots of the hall I could get but if you do get the chance, please check out the Latin American art floor (4th) and walk into the modern section.  Check out this awesome short film titled Paralysis (Parálisis) by Gabriel Acevedo Velarde.  You will love it.  (sample below)

IMG_7058IMG_7124IMG_7051

Leave a Reply

